3.5*, book review

#BookReview Don’t Tell a Soul by D.K. Hood @bookouture @DKHood_Author

 

36013584
Don’t Tell a Soul by D.K. Hood.

 

My Review:

I’d heard some good things about Don’t Tell A Soul and the blurb of book two in the series really appealed so I decided to read this, book one, first. I’m pleased that I did as the scene is definitely set in this book and we are introduced to the main characters. Talking of which I have to say that I loved how the two main characters, Sherrif Alton and Deputy Kane were introduced, both to the reader and to each other, it was very clever and totally set up their relationship for the rest of the book and no doubt series.

Kane has a hidden past and thinks that a new job as a Deputy in a small American town will be something of a semi-retirement, after all not a lot will happen in such a small town. Of course he was wrong, very wrong given that he hasn’t even arrived in town when he gets caught up in what he believes is attempted murder. Talk about being thrown into the deep end.

I really liked the character Kane and his backstory was great, the same goes for Alton and the bonus with her is that we have a feisty female character. Both have an interesting past that added depth and made their relationship very interesting.

I enjoyed reading Don’t Tell A Soul and give it 3.5* but will round up to 4* as half stars aren’t allowed on review sites. I think that the book sets the story for what is bound to be a great series.

Blurb:

The floor was stone cold on her bare skin. Her heart pounded in her chest. ‘Not a soul knows where I am,’ she thought as she took in the darkness around her. And then she heard his footsteps…

When a body is found stuffed into a barrel at a garbage dump, covered in long red lacerations, Detective Jenna Alton and her new deputy, David Kane, rush to the scene.

Nothing ever happens in the small American town of Black Rock Falls, so Jenna believes the victim must be one of two recent missing persons, and she fears for the life of the other.

Both were strangers to the town, but there’s nothing else to link them. Jenna knows someone must have seen something, but no one’s talking; how well does she really know the people around her?

Then a disturbing clue makes Jenna suspect a connection with other disappearances in the town’s history. Just when she begins asking the right questions, she realises she’s being followed. Is she next on the killer’s list?

In a race against time, Jenna and David must unlock the dark secret at the heart of the town, before it’s too late…

A completely addictive detective thriller that will have you guessing right to the end. Perfect for readers of Robert Dugoni, Karin Slaughter and Rachel Abbott.

About The Author:

17096652

I’ve always had a wicked sense of humour, and was the kid who told the ghost stories around the campfire. I am lucky to have family all over the world and have spent many vacations in places from Paris France to Montana USA and Australia. I use the wonderful memories from these visits to enhance my stories.
My interest in the development of forensic science to solve crime goes back many years. I enjoy writing crime, mystery and thrillers. With many stories, waiting for me to write I’ll look forward to sharing many spine tingling stories with you.

D.K. Hood is an active member of International Thriller Writers.
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ dkhoodauthor/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/DKHood_ Author

Website: www.dkhood.com

Don’t Tell A Soul by D.K. Hood is out now and available from Amazon UK and Amazon US.

1 thought on “#BookReview Don’t Tell a Soul by D.K. Hood @bookouture @DKHood_Author”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s